Show Us Your Schloss. . .

Another one of those beautiful late Summer, early Autumn days, which called for (I thought) sautéed mushrooms and fried eggs for breakfast – it is so nice that my work hours let me make breakfast a proper main meal – I have never been one of those people who can get by without eating in the morning, give me eggs, fruit, cereal, bacon or all of the above and I am a happy man.
But I digress, as Autumn comes along I start craving all those earthy flavours – root vegetables, squash, pumpkin, kumara (sweet potato for those not from NZ) and of course mushrooms – which means you will be seeing plenty of those ingredients in recipes on this blog in days to come – no baking today however as we are still working our way through birthday cake…watch this space!
 

So after a cruisy start (and an excellent coffee at Trachtenvogl) we headed out to Schloss Nymphenburg – I had been when I first arrived in Munich but as winter was approaching all of the statues had been put away in their winter storage boxes – today however they were all on display – I was particularly taken with the statue of Hades (below) who cuts a rather dashing figure – don't you think?

2 / 365

2 / 365

(and no, despite the trident it really is Hades – at his feet is his 3 headed friend)

 

Leave a comment